Prenuptial Agreement, Davidson County, NC

HomeLegal ServicesAlimony/Spousal Support, Davidson County, NCPrenuptial Agreement, Davidson County, NC

Prepare for marriage by creating a prenuptial agreement.

A prenuptial agreement is a formal contract you and your fiancé(e) create before you walk down the aisle. These written contracts list all the property you and your fiancé(e) own individually (in addition to your debts) and determine what happens to this property if your marriage ends in divorce.

Prenuptial Agreement in Davidson County, North Carolina

At the office of Robert G. Spaugh, Attorney at Law, we cannot stress enough that prenuptial agreements are not just for the wealthy and famous. A prenuptial agreement is a critical tool that can help you:

  • Pass separate property onto your children if you were married previously
  • Clarify your financial rights and responsibilities during your marriage
  • Prevent long and costly arguments during the divorce process
  • Protect yourself from the debt of your spouse in the event of divorce

If you get married without a prenuptial agreement, state law in Davidson County, North Carolina decides who gets what property you obtained during your marriage. For this reason, it is essential that the terms in your prenuptial agreement are legally sound, understandable, and clear.  This will protect your interests and ensure the court considers the document valid in the event of divorce.

The best way to create a valid, enforceable prenuptial agreement is to work with a lawyer. Our office looks forward to helping you take this important step as you prepare for your marriage. Schedule a consultation with us today to find out more about what comes next.

At the office of Robert G. Spaugh, Attorney at Law, we offer assistance with prenuptial agreements in Forsyth County (Winston-Salem, Clemmons, Kernersville, Lewisville, Bethania, Rural Hall, Walkertown, and Tobaccoville), Davidson County (Lexington, Thomasville, Denton, and Wallburg), Davie County (Mocksville, Advance, Bermuda Run, and Cooleemee), Stokes County (Danbury, King, Walnut Cove, and Germanton), Surry County (Dobson, Mt. Airy, Pilot Mountain, and Elkin), Yadkin County (Yadkinville, Jonesville, East Bend, and Boonville), and Wilkes County (Wilkesboro, North Wilkesboro, and Ronda), North Carolina.

Call Now