Power of Attorney, Winston-Salem, NC

HomeLegal ServicesEstate Law, Winston-Salem, NCPower of Attorney, Winston-Salem, NC

Give someone else the authority to act on your behalf.

Although it is hard to think about becoming unable to make your own decisions, this is a real possibility, especially as you age. A power of attorney is helpful and necessary when you want to choose someone you trust to act when you cannot. Without a power of attorney, a family member or friend may have to go to court to become your appointed agent, which can be a lengthy, expensive, and public process. It can also delay you receiving the care you need or being able to sell a home or other assets while the court decides.

Power of Attorney in Winston-Salem, North Carolina

At the office of Robert G. Spaugh, Attorney at Law, we typically recommend creating two types of power of attorney documents to add to your comprehensive estate plan: healthcare and financial powers of attorney. These documents are much like they sound – a financial power of attorney allows someone to make financial decisions on your behalf, while a healthcare power of attorney gives someone authority to make critical healthcare decisions when you become incapacitated.

For a power of attorney to become legally binding, it is best to work with our law office that serves the Winston-Salem, North Carolina area. Not only will we make sure we craft an effective power of attorney for your estate, but we will also make sure we draft the right types of documents for you to fulfill your wishes and needs.

We are happy to answer any of your questions about power of attorney documents and the important purpose they serve. Reach out to our office today to schedule a consultation regarding your estate planning needs and to find out more.

At the office of Robert G. Spaugh, Attorney at Law, we can help you create a power of attorney in Forsyth County (Winston-Salem, Clemmons, Kernersville, Lewisville, Bethania, Rural Hall, Walkertown, and Tobaccoville), Davidson County (Lexington, Thomasville, Denton, and Wallburg), Davie County (Mocksville, Advance, Bermuda Run, and Cooleemee), Stokes County (Danbury, King, Walnut Cove, and Germanton), Surry County (Dobson, Mt. Airy, Pilot Mountain, and Elkin), Yadkin County (Yadkinville, Jonesville, East Bend, and Boonville), or Wilkes County (Wilkesboro, North Wilkesboro, and Ronda), North Carolina.

Call Now